Our Demands

With my signature, I support the citizens petition on the following question in accordance with the ThürEBBG:

Are you in favor of the city of Jena

  1. sets itself the goal of achieving climate neutrality in Jena by the year 2035;

  2. immediately commission a planning office to prepare a Climate Action Plan (CAP) within one year to achieve this goal;

  3. immediately presents and discusses this plan in a freely accessible format of informal citizen participation, to which public invitations are issued via various communication channels, in order to immediately determine the measures required to achieve the goal of climate neutrality in 2035 on this basis and submit them to the city council for resolution;

  4. commit to reporting annually on the status of implementation both before the City Council and in an informal citizen participation format for information dissemination;

  5. includes in the bylaws of the Climate Protection Advisory Council that it participates in and constructively accompanies the process of implementing the measures under the CAP?

Justification

We have a responsibility to leave an intact basis for life for future generations. In 2015, Germany committed in the Paris Climate Agreement to make efforts “to limit the temperature increase to 1.5 °C above pre-industrial levels.” Achieving this goal will require immediate, drastic reductions in greenhouse gas emissions and net-zero emissions by the mid-2030s.

The City of Jena’s monitoring reports show that its efforts to date have not been sufficient to make the necessary contribution to meeting the Paris climate targets. The CAP is needed to achieve the “climate neutrality 2035” target, which was set for the first time, on the basis of necessary measures. The climate protection concept (2015) and the sustainability strategy (2021) can provide foundations for this.

In addition to a current scenario without climate policy measures (trend scenario), the CAP must also include a climate neutrality scenario with the necessary measures, the implementation of which will lead Jena to climate neutrality by 2035. Climate neutrality means that actions and processes do not cause greenhouse gases or that these are fully compensated. The CAP must estimate the annual costs and personnel requirements for planning and implementing the necessary measures across all sectors. To the extent that it falls within the city’s purview, these measures must be implemented or appropriate incentives must be provided and educational campaigns must be conducted. The maximum feasible reduction of all greenhouse gas emissions caused by the city, its population and facilities is required.

The compensation of any unreduced emissions of the city of Jena must take place from 2035 through regional to national measures if possible, but in no case at the expense of people of the Global South.

In accordance with the citizen participation statutes and their guidelines, residents are to be involved in a consultative capacity at an early stage in order to increase comprehensibility and identification with the measures to be adopted. The social effects of the CAP are also taken into account here. The annual, publicly announced reporting as well as the work of the climate protection advisory board guarantee control and public attention in the implementation of the measures.

The costs for the preparation of the CAP and the citizen participation are estimated at 100,000 €. This is to be covered by the budget for citizen participation / climate protection coordination.

That’s why we need you!
Here’s how you can join us.

Unsere Forderungen

Mit meiner Unterschrift unterstütze ich gemäß ThürEBBG das Bürgerbegehren zu folgender Frage:

Sind Sie dafür, dass die Stadt Jena

  1. sich als Ziel setzt, bis zum Jahr 2035 Klimaneutralität in Jena zu erreichen;

  2. unverzüglich ein Planungsbüro beauftragt, innerhalb eines Jahres einen Klima-Aktionsplan (KAP) zur Erreichung dieses Zieles zu erstellen;

  3. diesen Plan unverzüglich in einem frei zugänglichen Format der informellen Bürgerbeteiligung präsentiert und berät, zu dem öffentlich über verschiedene Kommunikationswege eingeladen wird, um auf dieser Grundlage unverzüglich die erforderlichen Maßnahmen zur Erreichung des Ziels Klimaneutralität 2035 festzustellen und dem Stadtrat zur Beschlussfassung vorzulegen;

  4. sich verpflichtet, jährlich sowohl vor dem Stadtrat als auch in einem Format der informellen Bürgerbeteiligung zur Informationsvermittlung über den Stand der Umsetzung Rechenschaft abzulegen;

  5. in die Satzung des Klimaschutzbeirats aufnimmt, dass dieser am Prozess der Durchführung der Maßnahmen nach dem KAP mitwirkt und ihn konstruktiv begleitet?

Begründung

Wir stehen in der Verantwortung, künftigen Generationen eine intakte Lebensgrundlage zu hinterlassen. Deutschland hat sich 2015 im Pariser Klimaabkommen verpflichtet, Anstrengungen zu unternehmen, „um den Temperaturanstieg auf 1,5 °C über dem vorindustriellen Niveau zu begrenzen“. Zur Erreichung dieses Ziels braucht es eine sofort einsetzende, drastische Reduzierung der Treibhausgasemissionen und Netto-Null-Emissionen Mitte der 2030er Jahre.

Die Monitoringberichte der Stadt Jena belegen, dass ihre bisherigen Anstrengungen nicht ausreichen, um den nötigen Beitrag zur Einhaltung der Pariser Klimaziele zu leisten. Für die Erreichung des erstmals festgeschriebenen Ziels „Klimaneutralität 2035“ anhand erforderlicher Maßnahmen braucht es den KAP. Das Klimaschutzkonzept (2015) und die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie (2021) können Grundlagen dafür bieten.

Im KAP muss neben einem aktuellen Szenario ohne klimapolitische Maßnahmen (Trendszenario) auch ein Klimaneutralitätsszenario mit den erforderlichen Maßnahmen enthalten sein, deren Umsetzung Jena bis 2035 zur Klimaneutralität führen wird. Klimaneutralität bedeutet, dass Handlungen und Prozesse keine Treibhausgase verursachen oder diese vollständig kompensiert werden. Der KAP muss die jährlichen Kosten und den Personalbedarf für die Planung und Umsetzung der dafür notwendigen Maßnahmensektoren-übergreifend abschätzen. Soweit es in den Zuständigkeitsbereich der Stadt fällt, müssen diese Maßnahmen verwirklicht bzw. entsprechende Anreize gesetzt und Aufklärungskampagnen durchgeführt werden. Verlangt wird die maximal umsetzbare Reduktion aller von der Stadt, ihrer Bevölkerung und Einrichtungen verursachten Treibhausgas-Emissionen.

Die Kompensation etwaiger nicht reduzierter Emissionen der Stadt Jena muss ab 2035 durch möglichst regionale bis nationale Maßnahmen erfolgen, in keinem Fall jedoch zu Lasten von Menschen des Globalen Südens.

Im Sinne der Bürgerbeteiligungssatzung und ihrer Leitlinien sind die Einwohner*innen bereits frühzeitig beratend einzubeziehen, um Nachvollziehbarkeit und Identifikation mit den zu beschließenden Maßnahmen zu erhöhen. Hier finden auch die sozialen Auswirkungen des KAP Berücksichtigung. Die jährliche, öffentlich anzukündigende Berichterstattung sowie die Arbeit des Klimaschutzbeirats gewährleisten Kontrolle und öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit bei der Umsetzung der Maßnahmen.

Die Kosten für die Erstellung des KAP und die Bürgerbeteiligung werden auf 100.000 € geschätzt. Dies ist mit dem Haushaltsbudget für Bürgerbeteiligung / Klimaschutzkoordination zu decken.